Welcome to the Empire State School Press Association! Since 1937, we have been providing education, resources and recognition to aspiring high school journalists in New York State.

Every fall, we host a conference at the S.I. Newhouse School of Public Communications at Syracuse University, our headquarters. Every summer, we host a weeklong press camp, the School Press Institute, at the university.

ESSPA was co-founded by M. Lyle Spencer, then dean of the School of Journalism at Syracuse University, and Dr. Douglass W. Miller, who became the first executive secretary. In the beginning, the organization was supported by a board of several directors – all teachers from high schools around the state.